Hazard Mitigation Planning

Hazard Mitigation
Share This Page

​Mitigation Planning Divisions

The California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) has two divisions focused on mitigation planning: the State Mitigation Planning Division and the Local Mitigation Planning Division. These divisions are responsible for a comprehensive local and state planning program. Mitigation requires the coordinated effort and participation of a wide range of stakeholders and the public in the planning process. Hazard mitigation is the cornerstone of every communities approach to reducing vulnerability to disasters. Hazard mitigation is the only phase of emergency management specifically dedicated to breaking the cycle of damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. 

The planning process is as important as the resulting plan because it creates a framework for the State of California to reduce the negative impacts from future disasters on lives, property, and the environment.

If you already have a Hazard Mitigation Plan and are seeking information or assistance with a Hazard Mitigation Grant, please go to the page for the 404 Hazard Mitigation Grant Program within Cal OES.

Areas of responsibility for the two Mitigation Planning Divisions include:

  1. Developing and maintaining the State Hazard Mitigation Plan (SHMP). This includes climate-related planning.

  2. Implementing and administering, in cooperation with local governments and communities, training and technical assistance on Local Hazard Mitigation Plan (LHMP) development. 

  3. Assessing and reviewing LHMPs in a fair and consistent manner and ensuring approved LHMPs meet the requirements of the Stafford Act and Title 44 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) §201.6 prior to their submittal to FEMA for approval.

Mitigation Planning Contacts

Mitigation and Dam Safety Branch:

Jose Lara, Branch Chief

Email: Jose.Lara@caloes.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8883

Miles Gordon, Civic Sparks Climate Fellow, Special Projects

Email: Miles.Gordon@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8236

State Mitigation Planning:

Kendall Skillicorn, Division Chief

Email: Kendall.Skillicorn@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8882 

Megan Walton, Senior Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Megan.Walton@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8766

Kasmira Kit, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Kasmira.Kit@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8806


Local Mitigation Planning:

Victoria La Mar-Haas, Division Chief

Email: Victoria.LaMar-Haas@CalOES.ca.gov|Desk phone: 916.845.8531

Phillip John Labra, Senior Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Phillip.Labra@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8420

Karen McCready-Hoover, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Karen.McCready-Hoover@CalOES.ca.gov | Desk phone: 916.845.8177


Dam Safety Planning:

Joanne Brandani, Division Chief

Email: Joanne.Brandani@CalOES.ca.gov|Desk phone: 916.845.8186

Casey Meredith, Senior Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Casey.Meredith@CalOES.ca.gov|Desk phone: 916.845.8160

Danielle Jessup, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Danielle.Jessup@CalOES.ca.gov|Desk phone: 916.845.8843

Maria Zepeda-Oglesby, Emergency Services Coordinator

Email: Maria.ZepedaOglesby@CalOES.ca.gov|Desk phone: 916.845.8216

Leonela Vallecillo-Curiel, Associate Governmental Program Analyst

Email: Leonela.Vallecillo-Curiel@CalOES.ca.gov|Desk phone: 916.845.8193

 

 

 

 

 

Supporting Page