Inland Region

Regional Operations


​There are 31 counties within three Mutual Aid Regions within the Inland Administration Region. Within the Inland Region there are 123 incorporated cities ranging in population from approximately 200 to 500,000. The total population of all cities and counties in the Inland region is 7,181,010. (Population figures: CA. Department of Finance 2014).

The Inland Region consists of primarily rural jurisdictions with a few large metropolitan cities. The geography for the Inland Region is vast and varied with terrain consisting of valley floor agricultural centers, grasslands, watershed areas, high desert regions, foothill regions and into the mountain range areas.

Along with such diverse terrain, each area presents its own unique set of challenges and threats that affect California. Those vulnerabilities include:

  • ​River and flash flooding

  • Wildfires

  • Dam and levee failures

  • Earthquakes

  • Drought

  • Pestilence

  • Pandemic

  • Agriculture

  • Avalanche hazards

  • Chemical hazards

​Mutual Aid Regional Advisory Committee (MARAC)

​​The Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS) was established by state legislation; Senate Bill (SB) 1841, Chapter 1069, Statutes of 1992, which went into effect January 1, 1993 (California Government Code Section 8607). The SEMS Maintenance System was developed as a means to establish and formalize a process for supporting the ongoing improvement and maintenance of California’s overall system for emergency management, including SEMS.

The SEMS Maintenance System consists of three levels of operation:

  • SEMS Advisory Board
  • SEMS Technical Group
  • SEMS Mutual Aid Regional Advisory Committees (MARACs)

Although there is only one Advisory Board and one Technical Group (supported by SEMS Specialist Committees and a Cal OES SEMS Support Unit) there are six MARACs, one for each of the six mutual aid regions.

MARACs were established to provide a broad base for local government participation in the SEMS Maintenance System and are a principal source of input and information into the system. Recommendations from these committees to the SEMS Technical Group provide a means by which SEMS is maintained and improved.

Responsibilities of the MARAC are to:

  • Adopt regional goals and objectives that support the development and implementation of SEMS.
  • Ensure that local governments, operational areas, special districts and other organizations, including the private sector and non-governmental organizations, are kept informed of the latest information on emergency management and on SEMS.
  • Recommend changes or modifications to SEMS to the SEMS Technical Group.
  • Provide personnel and/or technical support to SEMS Specialist Committees as appropriate.
  • Ensure that local agencies and jurisdictions are provided the opportunity for ongoing comment and suggestions for system improvements.

Contact MARAC Coordinators for any Questions


Coordinator: Jasen Vela
Cell: (916) 539-2185



Coordinator: Sarah Murdock
Cell: (916) 661-0329


MARAC Region V

Coordinator: Joanne Gurrola
Cell: (916) 397-0063

​Plans for Inland Region

Please visit the Catastrophic Planning Page for information about the Catastrophic Incident Base Plan and the Cascadia Subduction Zone Earthquake & Tsunami Response Plan


Supporting Page